Skip to main content
Topic: Problem importing bookmarks. (Read 3393 times)

Problem importing bookmarks.

Greetings.

I'm new to the Otter Browser project and I really want to see it working and to eventually replace my opera 12.14 with it.
The problem I'm having right now is when I try to Import my opera bookmarks (either in .adr or .html format) I get the following error message: "Failed to open file for reading".

I've tried to search everywhere but couldn't find a solution, is there anything I can do to solve it?
I'm using Widnows 7 x64.

P.S.
Will there be an opera extensions support in the future (such as ExtendTube, etc.)?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Re: Problem importing bookmarks.

Reply #1

The problem I'm having right now is when I try to Import my opera bookmarks (either in .adr or .html format) I get the following error message: "Failed to open file for reading".

While the main developers will see your post, it's always better to head out to GitHub and open a new issue ticket.

Will there be an opera extensions support in the future (such as ExtendTube, etc.)?

Maybe along with Firefox and Chrome extensions?!

Reply #2
@SurpriZe, that is an odd message,  are you able to open these files with plain text editors (like Notepad or Wordpad)?

We are planning to focus on APIs used by Firefox and Chrome, they have much more extensions available.
We can consider support for Opera APIs but that has low priority and we aren't sure yet if it is worth effort (are there any interesting Opera specific extensions that cannot be ported to other APIs?).
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.

Reply #3
are there any interesting Opera specific extensions that cannot be ported to other APIs?

Many things that use Opera UserJS fall in a range anywhere from inconvenient to hard to nearly impossible. For instance, consider this utterly simple UserJS, 100% compatible with GM: