Skip to main content
Topic: Otter browser and Qupzilla. (Read 5172 times)

Otter browser and Qupzilla.

Hi

First message here, even if I was one of the first people who noticed the news about the newborn browser.

As I already said  elsewhere I consider it a great hope for the people orphaned by the death of the true Opera development, and given I'm not a programmer I'm trying to help with some suggestions.

I suggested a couple of specific details on github, but the one I have in  mind now is more matter than a forum discussion than a bug filing on github, so I subscribed the forum.

Back to the subject, before the born of Otter i used Qupzilla for awhile, and I consider it also a great piece of code.

Now while the goals of both project are not exactly the same, Qupzilla reminds Opera in a lot of details: personalization menu, speeddial, basic theming, a lot of settings are the same and so on...

Unfortunately for the Opera lovers, Qupzilla doesn't aim to replicate opera but "just" to create a multiplatform, lightweight, independent browser.
So we will never see on Qupsilla's todo an email client, an operalink hook, a sidepanel[ s] and so on...

On the other hand, Otter aims to be a viable Opera alternative, but its development was started way later, so is obvious that is less mature.

Now what I'm going to ask:
why not reuse part of the Qupzilla code in Otter (say menus, speeddial and so on) and focus the development efforts on the areas where Qupzilla will never progress (because its different goals), say email/irc/notes integration, operalink emulation, compression support and so on?

I'm not a programmer, but given Qupzilla is opensource, and based on QT like Otter, I guess it's feasible, and I guess that a little cooperation between both the project should lead in better efficiency and in faster development, avoiding to reinvent the wheel, where the features overlaps.

What do you think ?

Thanks in advance for your attention

Re: Otter browser and Qupzilla.