Skip to main content
Topic: Conspiracy Theories (Read 9194 times)

Conspiracy Theories

The world is full of them. An example on the Kennedy assassination.
Regardless of what actually happened that day, research suggests that we might be psychologically predisposed to see conspiracies behind events like the Kennedy assassination. This is because of an unconscious mental rule of thumb called the proportionality bias. When the outcome of an event is significant, proportionally significant causes seem more plausible. When consequences are modest, more modest attributions are made. Psychologists have demonstrated the bias using a variety of experimental scenarios, from reports of disease outbreaks and tornadoes to plane crashes and crimes. The findings are consistent: we tend to infer big causes for extreme events and small causes for insignificant events.

That one by Rob Brotherton at
http://conspiracypsychology.com/

Obviously, I'm no expert on the subject, but find it interesting.

Are such theories common in other countries on subjects having nothing to do with the US?

Re: Conspiracy Theories

Reply #1
Where is everybody?

Have the Feds blocked the site to prevent the secrets from getting out?

Reply #3
I'll have to notify the Men in Black.

Reply #4
"Conspiracy Theories" designation was invented to discredit the people who denounces conspiracy practices.
A matter of attitude.

Reply #5
The first big conspiracy theory I ever got wind of was about the Kennedy assassination. Consider that it would take an expert marksman to place those bullets in Kennedy's head from the 6th floor of the book depository. It could be done, but the number of people who can do it won't exactly be standing-room only at Wrigley Field.
Problem: The conspiracies turn out to be even worse. Most are outright unworkable,require too many people to keep secrets, and require people who were actually there and saw what happened to say what they saw isn't what actually happened.