Skip to main content
Topic: Guidelines for requests and development (Read 3471 times)

Guidelines for requests and development

This post is strictly from the user point of view. I am not a programmer so I don't know how to achieve what I am talking about here. This does not prevent me from having a point of view though. Good to have a place to express it :)

CATEGORIES OF REQUESTS

Broadly there are two, or let's say three categories of feature requests regarding Otter browser. The first category is emulating or copying Opera Presto. It would be nice if this category were the priority.

The second category is (arguable) enhancements of erstwhile Opera Presto features or logical evolution of them. For example, I liked the idea of virtual folders in email and in the old forum I made the request to extend virtual folders to everywhere applicable: Bookmarks, Contacts, Notes, ... Right now Otter browser displays the same old hard folders in Bookmarks. I really think virtual folders would enhance organisability, e.g. ability to include a bookmark item in multiple folders without having to multiply the bookmark item.

In the first category of requests, I'd mention keywords in bookmark items. They were there in Opera, but are missing in Otter. Also, at the current stage the overall configurability of the interface is underdeveloped. For example:

- Keyboard shortcuts, those that are there, are not listed and configurable in some obvious place (Opera had a dialogue for that).
- Not much under right-click. In Opera, right-clicking pretty much anywhere brought up context-specific menus. Right-clicking on any button allowed to move or remove the button.
- Menus in Opera could be rewritten in full detail.
- Toolbars: Ability to add and remove toolbars, and to add or rearrange buttons and elements on any toolbar as desired